Local Board Members attend District meeting


School BoardThe  Tennessee  School  Boards  Association  (TSBA)  hosted  the  South  Central Fall  District  meeting  on  September  27 at  Giles  County  High  School in  Pulaski.  Lewis County School Board members Phyllis Townsend, Glenda Atkinson, Nancy McDonald, Derek Cotham, Johnny Clayton, Ritchie Brewer, Lindsey Himes and Director Benny Pace were in attendance.

“TSBA’s  Fall  District  meetings  give  our  staff  the  opportunity  to  connect  directly  with  school  board  members  at  nine  convenient  locations  around  the  state. This  helps  us  hear  their  concerns  and  provide  them  with  relevant  information  and  the  support  necessary  to  make  the  best  decisions  for  the  children  in  their  communities  during  the  2018-19  school  year,”  said  TSBA  Executive  Director  Dr.  Tammy  Grissom.  

Members  of  local  boards  of  education  and  superintendents  from  the  region  participated  in  a  survey  where  they  expressed  their  positions  on  issues  for  the  upcoming  General  Assembly;  reviewed  the  role  and  responsibilities  of  the  Board  and  Superintendent;  discussed  the  role  of  the  Board  in  school  safety;  reviewed  the  benefits  of  participating  in  the  “TSBA  OPEB  Trust,”  and  shared  new,  innovative  programs/services  that  they  have  implemented  in  their  local  districts.  

Each  year  TSBA  honors  one  school  volunteer  from  each  of  its  nine  districts  who  have  distinguished  themselves  by  demonstrating  exceptional  commitment  to  volunteerism  in  a  local  school  district.  The  district  winner  has  exhibited  exemplary  leadership,  creativity,  cooperation  and  hard  work  in  their  service  to  a  school.  One  of  those  nine  volunteers  will  win  the  statewide  School  Volunteer  Recognition  Award  to  be  presented  at  the  TSBA  Annual  Convention  in  November,  which  will  include  a  $1,000  grant  to  the  school  of  their choice.  The  2018 South  Central District  Volunteer  Recognition  Award  winners  are Mark  and  Theresa  Catron of  Bedford  County. This  husband  and  wife  team  has been  an  amazing  part  of  the  Liberty  School  family  for  many years.  They  serve  as  the  President  and  Treasurer of  the  PTO  and  are  the  epitome  of  “Patriot  Pride.”They  have  served  as  officers  in  the  PATS  Booster  Club,  led  the  concession  stands for  various  sporting  events,  and  organized  the  Junior  Pro  Basketball  league.  Mark  and  Theresa  serve  as  volunteers  for  other  schools  and  have  always  been  eager  in  helping  students  and  teachers  wherever needed.  

Several  South  Central District  school  board  members  earned  TSBA  Boardsmanship  Awards  in  2018.  The  awards  are  presented  to  individual  board  members  who  have  achieved  one  of  five  levels  of  boardsmanship  standards  over  the  past  year.  The  program  is  designed  to  recognize  school board  members  for  participation  in  board  activities  beyond  the  local  level  through  a  commitment  to  training,  willingness  to  participate  in  workshops  and  a  volunteer  spirit.  The  Boardsmanship  Award  honors  not  only  the  quantity,  but  also  the  quality  of  participation.  Levels  I-IV  are  given  at  Fall  District  Meetings,  while  Level  V  Boardsmanship  is  awarded  at  the  association’s  annual  convention  in  November. Lewis County board  members  who  were  honored  for  their  achievements  this  year  were  Marti Lomax, Level 3, and Nancy McDonald, Level 4.

Comments are closed.